Posted by: Benner | February 7, 2008

Dilla Day

dillastudio.jpg 

Today would be J Dilla’s 34th Birthday.  Unfortunately he passed away 2 years ago at the age of 32, due to several different medical conditions.  His music however, lives on.  Here are some of the highlights from what other blogs are doing, and saying in tribute…

Hip Hop DX interview with Dilla’s mom and brother

Hip Hop DX tribute to Dilla in the words of his collaborators

Assorted Donuts (mixtape of last year imo)

J Rocc (from the Beatnuts) tribute to Jay

and one of my personal favs… Let’s Ride (off of Q Tip’s Amplified LP)

some vids…

 

let me know if there’s anything I should to add to this ya’ll

Oh, and me and J Dilla share a birthday if you know what I’m sayin…

Responses

  1. Happy happy Birthday to Benner and Dilla!

  2. dang did I realize that you guys got the same b-day? makes sense.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO DILLA

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO BEN

    here’s a little gem that got SLEPT THE F ON last year:

    phat kat “nasty aint it” produced by dilla (duh) check it on his myspace:

    http://www.myspace.com/phatkatakaronniecash

    the a side to this track (also on phat kat’s album) is called ‘cold steel’, that joint is also killer, this was definitely the dopest 12″ I got last year. check the youtube video of the cold steel video, also on his myspace.

    RIP DILLA

  3. “Nasty Ain’t It” is mad nasty though. FIRE!! Thanks for the heads up…

  4. “Turn it UP!”

    Dilla is and has been my biggest inspiration for some time now…It still hurts to think that he is no longer with us.

    One of my top 5 albums of all time is definitely Slum Village’s “Fantastic Vol. 2.” Also, nearly every album that I bumped crazy in high school (“Like Water for Chocolate, “The Love Movement) had Dilla’s stamp somewhere.

    Greatest poducers of all time:
    1) Dilla
    2) Pete Rock
    3) DJ Premier

    R.I.P. Dilla Dog.

    P.S. Happy birthday Ben!

  5. Uh-oh… Looks loke someones got a profile picture up. Lookin sexy.

    top 3 rap-related sadness causers:

    1)Dirty
    2)Biggie
    3)Dilla

    sidenote: one time, when I was in high-school, I awoke at 8am on a saturday and walked downstairs to find my mom on her knees 6 inches from the TV screen watching the video for crossroads, crying, while holding the Biggie Life after Death CD up to her heart. hella sad…

  6. Others with Feb 7 born days:

    John Deer
    Charles Dickens
    Garth Brooks
    Chris Rock
    Juwan Howard
    Steve Nash
    Ashton Kutcher

    fyi…

  7. Not to steal Dilla’s shine, but today was also the same date that Big Pun pased away (8 years ago).

    Another great artist that was taken too early.

    P.S. I hope I’m not bumming you out on your b-day Benner.

  8. Not at all…

    Today we celebrate life!!

    I miss pun too. In fact I remember excactly where I was when I heard about his passing. I was in my freshman year dorm (with the homie Devon) doing a power hour with shots of Carlos Rossi (painful).

    Here is a much slept-on Punisher track featuring Raekwon, Joey Crack, and some other dunn. Pun is batting clean-up here and he definitely clears the bases if you know what I’m saying

    (Firewater)
    http://www.zshare.net/audio/7301303377ef39/

    “don’t get me wrong, I’m a funny bastard, but when it comes to money dunn, I’m not the one to laugh with…”

  9. I share my bday with Andre Benjamin (and my friend Bally). I will have to find out who else celebrates on 527, but I think that’s kind of special.

  10. Since my people believed in Dilla, then I too shall believe in him for what he stands for. One day I dream of the real music, the music that has long sense been forgotten. Let the messages of these rappers be forever in our heart, and the music be an unforgotten melody.

  11. Just found this in a search, Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

