Posted by: Benner | February 25, 2008

Oscar Wrap-Up

 oscar.jpg

This is my feeble attempt at attracting as many comments about the Oscars as I did about the Grammy’s.

Here are my notes… 

– There were A LOT of movies that I missed (and now want to see) this year.

– Jon Stewart is hecka funny

– If Cate Blanchett can play Bob Dylan, maybe Tilda Swinton should play David Bowie 

– Was Owen Wilson the Oscar’s answer to the other award shows featuring the likes of Britney Spears and Amy Winehouse?

– I sort of wished There Will Be Blood had won Best Picture, although I don’t think I fully understood No Country… (even after my sister explained it to me).  And it’s nice that DDL won Best Actor for his role there.

– Enchanted seems enchanting

– Daniel Day Lewis hasn’t changed his (silly) look since My Left Foot

– Javier Bardem looks normal (in relation to his character)

– I would definitely lay with Hellen Mirren

– (conspiracy theory alert) I don’t know if anyone noticed all the people nearly slipping into the podium (Miley Cyrus, Collin Farrell, John Travolta) at the same exact spot, but I think it was a deliberate attempt by the producers of the show to make a scene.

– I thought Diablo Cody gave the most endearing speech in recent memory

– It turned out to be a very multi-national event

–  I’ll end with Jon Stewart’s line of the night: “There is a great variety in the nominated films this year. Even ‘Norbit’ got a nomination, which I think is great. Too often the Academy ignores movies that aren’t good.” I can definitely vouch for that…

Responses

  1. The Jon Stewart crack about Jack Nicholson getting someone pregnant by the end of the night had me rolling…

    No Country for Old Men is one of the greatest films EVER…Yeah, I said it.

  2. Your Jon Stewart quote had me rolling.

    Fully in agreement about Diablo’s speech. She was almost dizzy with emotion! She seemed super disoriented when she was trying to leave the stage. I was sad because I only got to watch the end of the awards. But I was happy I got to see that one. DDL’s look is totally bad but at least he ditched the cape.

    I would totally lay with Javier Bardem. Hello, yum!

    And finally, you are so spot on with your comment about Tilda Swinton. Genius.

  3. You would lay with JB? After what he did to those things to those people in that movie. That’s disgusting.

    That Tilda Swinton comment about David Bowie got me thinking. What other female actresses should get cast in male roles for biopics. Maybe…

    Kathy Griffin stars as Andy Dick

    A-kate-47 as Eddie Vedder

    Just a couple suggestions


Leave a Reply

Categories

